Posting Date: February 18, 2010

KSU students to perform in concerto competition finals

Competition encourages highest level of professional excellence

By Scott Singleton

2009 winners of the competition (from left) Noah Vece, Peter Westin and Michael Acorn

10 Kennesaw State University student musicians will compete in the KSU Concerto Competition Finals on Feb. 25 at 8 p.m. in the Performance Hall of the Dr. Bobbie Bailey & Family Performance Center.  With three separate rounds, the competition began with preliminary rounds judged by KSU School of Music Faculty. For the semi-finals on Feb. 10, Lara Carr Morris, Misty Simmons and Huu Mai served as judges. All three are KSU alumni and former winners of the competition.

The winners of this year’s competition will earn soloist positions for a performance with the KSU Orchestra in the fall of 2010. Huu Mai will also judge the final round on Feb. 25, along with David Lloyd, Principal Cello for the Cobb Symphony Orchestra and Tania Maxwell Clemens, Professor of Viola at Georgia State University. Professor of Music David Watkins and Director of Orchestras Michael Alexander both serve as co-chairs of the competition.

On the value of the competition, David Watkins says, “It encourages the highest possible level of professional excellence. It gives students an opportunity to perform with an orchestra in a symphonic setting, which is a rare opportunity for solo musicians.”

The 10 students selected to compete in the finals are:

Alexandra Khaimovich, violin, who will perform Concerto in D Major, Op. 35 by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky. She is a student of Assistant Professor of Violin Helen Kim.

Steven Melin, piano, who will perform Concerto in A minor, Op. 16 by Edvard Grieg. He is a student of David Watkins.

Caitlin Dolenc, oboe, who will perform Introduction, Theme and Variations, Op. 102 by Johann Nepomuk Hummel. She is a student of Jennifer Potochnic.

Adam von Housen, violin, who will perform Concerto in D minor, p. 47 by Jean Sibelius. He is a student of Helen Kim.

Tsuey Wei Seah, piano, who will perform Concerto in G minor, Op. 22 by Camille Saint-Saëns. She is a student of David Watkins.

Jonathan Urizar, violin, who will perform Symphonie espagnole Op. 21 by Edouard Lalo. He is a student of Helen Kim.

Alex Depew, Alex Hansell, Melissa Harris, Alison Youngblood will perform Konzertstück for Four Horns and Orchestra, Op. 86 by Robert Schumann. The Horn Quartet members are students of Artist-in-Residence in Horn Tom Witte.

Brandon Bell, saxophone, has already won the opportunity to perform Concerto for Saxophone, Op. 26, movement I by Paul Creston, titled Energetic, in concert with the KSU Wind Ensemble in fall 2010. He is a student of Sam Skelton.

The competition is free and open to the public. The concert will also feature the induction ceremony of the Theta Tau Chapter of the Pi Kappa Lambda National Honorary Music Society. For more information visit the box office or call 770-423-6650.


More News

Send e-mails regarding this website to COTA Webmaster.
©2009-2012 Kennesaw State University

The College of the Arts at Kennesaw State University supports, defends and promotes academic freedom in artistic expression, as outlined by the American Association of University Professors, and diversity of all kinds as outlined by the university's Human Relations Position Statement.

flourish with us