Posting Date: March 29, 2010

Area arts leaders honored for service
Kennesaw State Dance Advisory Board named board of the year

For media inquiries: Cheryl Anderson Brown, Director of Public Relations,
770-499-3417 or

(From left) Joseph Meeks, dean of the College of the Arts; Ivan Pulinkala, director of the Program in Dance; Mark Kent of Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre; Cheryl Oglesby; Michele Ziemann-DeVos of Georgia Ballet; and Beverly Hawes. Kent and Ziemann-DeVos are members of the Dance Advisory Board; Oglesby and Hawes are members of the Friends of Dance Board.

KENNESAW, Ga.—Seventeen area dance leaders were recently honored by Kennesaw State University. As members of the KSU Dance Advisory Board, they were named "Advisory Board of the Year" for their contributions to the growth and success of the KSU Program in Dance.

The Dance Advisory Board has helped establish professional partnerships for the new Bachelor of Arts degree program in dance. Since the degree was approved one year ago, the program has benefitted from an ongoing  educational partnership with Atlanta Ballet, collaborative performances and choreographer exchanges with Georgia Ballet, a community engagement partnership with Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre, performance opportunities with Dance Centre South and Ruth Mitchell Dance Conservatory, and recruitment and service opportunities at North Springs High School and Pebblebrook High School.

"The Dance Advisory Board's contributions are a wonderful example of how community partnerships can support the university during these challenging financial times," says Associate Professor Ivan Pulinkala, who directs the dance program. "They have provided opportunities that supplement our limited resources and provide our students with experiences that we would otherwise be unable to offer."

The members of the Dance Advisory Board are Marcus Alford of Dance Centre South, Susan Bebee of North Atlanta School of the Arts, Kari Carter of Praise Him With Dance, Andrea Edmonstone of North Springs High School, Tammy Everhart of Great Gig Dance, Heather Green Conley of Atlanta Ballet, Lee Harper of Lee Harper & Dancers, Angela Harris of Dance Canvas, Terri Kayser of Cartersville City Ballet/ Woodland High School, Jonnie Kelley of The Dancers Studio, Mark B. Kent of Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center, Reiko Kimura of Georgia Ballet and Atlanta Ballet, Denise Reeves of Pebblebrook High School, Janet Rowthorn of Bravo Dance Center, Sharon Story of Atlanta Ballet Center for Dance Education, Lisa Toups of Georgia Dance Conservatory and Michele Ziemann-DeVos of Georgia Ballet.

The KSU Program in Dance also benefits from the volunteer service of the Friends of Dance Board, which assists with marketing and fundraising.


# # #

A member of the 35-unit University System of Georgia, Kennesaw State University is a comprehensive, residential institution with a growing student population of more than 21,000 from 142 countries. The third-largest university in Georgia, Kennesaw State offers more than 65 graduate and undergraduate degrees, including new doctorates in education and business.

The KSU College of the Arts is one of only four Georgia institutions to have achieved full national accreditation for all of its arts programs.



More News


Send e-mails regarding this website to COTA Webmaster.
©2009-2012 Kennesaw State University

The College of the Arts at Kennesaw State University supports, defends and promotes academic freedom in artistic expression, as outlined by the American Association of University Professors, and diversity of all kinds as outlined by the university's Human Relations Position Statement.

flourish with us