Posting Date: May 6, 2011


Nominations needed for arts awards
Kennesaw State will honor arts leaders, teachers

For media inquiries: Cheryl Anderson Brown, Director of Public Relations,
770-499-3417 or


2010 Flourish Award recipients (from left) Seth Hopkins, executive director of the Booth Western Art museum;
Lee Rhyant, former vice president and CEO of Lockheed; Marietta High School dance teacher Chiazor Nwabude;
and Theatre in the Square, represented by Palmer Wells.


Photo by Tracie Hinnant

KENNESAW, Ga.—The College of the Arts at Kennesaw State University is seeking nominations for its annual Flourish Awards, which honor individuals and organizations in the community who support, promote or participate in the arts in Metropolitan Atlanta and Northwest Georgia. Nominees are sought in four categories: arts leader, arts educator, public/community service, and nonprofit arts organization or arts company.

Nominations should be sent by e-mail to or via fax to 678-797-2426 by 5 p.m. on June 17. The awards will be presented at the college’s annual fundraising luncheon on Sept. 13 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center. Nominators should include the following information in their nominations: name and contact information for the nominee and a brief justification of no more than 250 words.

To qualify for an award, individuals or organizations should be well known in the community, should be living or currently operating, must be from Georgia or residing or operating in Georgia and should have greatly enhanced a particular arts field or the arts in general.

The arts leader category is open to performers, artists, presenters, designers, directors, or administrators working in an arts-related field or for a program or organization that provides direct support to the arts or arts education

The arts educator category is open to P-12 art, dance, music or theater teachers who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and who have created or significantly supported projects that link the arts to other areas of the curriculum and/or projects that enhance the community.

The public/community service category is open to elected or appointed government officials, civil servants, volunteers and philanthropists.

The nonprofit organization/arts company category is open to an arts presenter or arts agency of any size that is well established in the community and that has a commitment to both quality arts programming and community outreach.

Nominations will be reviewed by a community committee. Award recipients will be notified by early August.

Previous recipients include artist Steve Penley of Carrollton, philanthropists Bob and Elaine Feldberg of Smyrna, Georgia Shakespeare director Richard Garner, philanthropists Audrey and Jack Morgan of Tucker, former Cobb County Commission Chairman Samuel Olens, the Cobb Symphony Orchestra, the Earl Smith Strand Theatre, Theatre in the Square, Seth Hopkins of the Booth Western Art Museum and former Lockheed vice president Lee Rhyant.

For more information, call 770-499-3214 or click the “Flourish Luncheon” link at

# # #

Kennesaw State University is the third-largest university in Georgia, offering more than 70 graduate and undergraduate degrees, including new doctorates in education, business and nursing. A member of the 35-unit University System of Georgia, Kennesaw State is a comprehensive, residential institution with a growing student population of more than 22,500 from 142 countries.

The KSU College of the Arts is one of only four Georgia institutions to have achieved full national accreditation for all of its arts departments.


More News

Send e-mails regarding this website to COTA Webmaster.
©2009-2012 Kennesaw State University

The College of the Arts at Kennesaw State University supports, defends and promotes academic freedom in artistic expression, as outlined by the American Association of University Professors, and diversity of all kinds as outlined by the university's Human Relations Position Statement.

flourish with us