Student Media Board


Oct. 10, 2005


Dr. Nancy King, Dr. Laura Dabundo,  Chris Hough, Jonathan Edman, Dave Dalton, Brent Ashworth, Heidi Paruta, Meredith Pruden, Ed Bonza.


Angelique Folabit, Dr. Nikhil Moro, Loretta Garrett, Nicole Phillips

The 2nd meeting of the 2005-2006 academic year was called to order by Board Chair Jonathan Edman at 2:06 pm. Changes to the current bylaws, with attention to clarity and order were discussed. These changes, along with possible revisions of the GPA requirement were moved to a subcommittee, which was charged by Edman to make recommendations and bring these back to the SMB. Appointed to the Bylaws Subcommittee were Edman, Ashworth, Bonza, Hough, Paruta, and Pruden. The motion was approved.

A common manual for all media, with policy specific to each organization covered in addendums, was discussed again (An example of such a manual is available here: http://www.ncsu.edu/sma/policies/policies.html). Edman requested that all publication editor in chiefs discuss this as a group and present a draft document to the SMB. The motion was approved.

Bonza discussed the advantages of a SABAC approved combination of student media budgets. Dr. Dabundo made a motion to combine media budgets. The motion passed. Bonza will go before SABAC to present this proposal on November 28.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:25 pm. (Please review and let me know of any errors)