Student Media Board


Sept. 26, 2005


Dr. Nancy King, Dr. Laura Dabundo, Nicole Phillips, Chris Hough, Jonathan Edman, Dave Dalton, Brent Ashworth, Heidi Paruta, Meredith Pruden, Ed Bonza.


Angelique Folabit, Dr. Nikhil Moro, Loretta Garrett.

The first meeting of the 2005-2006 academic year was called to order by Board Secretary Ed Bonza at 2:05 pm. After introductions, nominations for SMB Chair were solicited. Edman volunteered and there were no other nominations. The motion for Jonathan Edman to be the 2005-06 SMB chair passed, 6-0-0.

The board's bylaws were then discussed. Both Hough and Edman were concerned about vagueness in the document. Bonza supplied a copy with suggestions for changes. Bonza will share a copy with all Board members and all suggestions for the bylaws at the next meeting. A PDF file of this version is attached.

Ashworth raised the idea of a common manual for all media, with policy specific to each organization covered in addendums. 

An example of such a manual is available here:

Bonza discussed the advantages of a SABAC approved combination of student media budgets. Bonza will request that this be added to the agenda of SABAC's next meeting. Both these topics, along with Bylaw revisions, will be further at the next SMB meeting.

Updates for each media were presented by their respective editor. 

The members decided that they would meet in the next two weeks (between Oct. 3 and Oct. 14) and will review their schedules and forward possible meeting times to Bonza. 

The meeting was adjourned at 3:25 pm.