Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


For information or to join the KSU Philharmonic Orchestra,

contact Charles Laux at (770) 423-6553 or

KSU Philharmonic Orchestra

The KSU Philharmonic is an orchestra for string players that are non-music majors or music majors wishing to perform on a secondary string instrument. Playing in the Philharmonic is a great way for KSU students to continue having musical experiences throughout their college years.  The orchestra performs a wide variety of string orchestra literature from different time periods.

The orchestra is under the direction of Mr. Charles Laux and rehearses on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 3:30-4:45 p.m. in the Bailey Performance Center.  Each semester the orchestra performs approximately two concerts and collaborates with members of the KSU Concert Band to form a full orchestra. 


Interested students should register for MUSI 1144 or 3344.  A zero credit option is also available!  There is no audition requirement, however previous string/orchestra performing experience is necessary. Come join us to sharpen your string playing skills, meet new people, and have some fun making wonderful music!


Find us on Facebook!  Follow us on Twitter!


Register now for Fall 2013!


  • MUSI 1144, CRN #82837 (one credit)
  • MUSI 3344, CRN#82944 (one credit)
  • MUSI 3344, CRN #82947 (zero credit)


Watch our promotional video!



View member testimonials!





Spring 2013

  • Hanson: Rhythmic Variations on Two Ancient Hymns
  • Holst: Seven Scottish Airs
  • Britten: Simple Symphony
  • Tchaikovsky/arr. Monday: Themes from Romeo and Juliet Overture
  • Lennon/McCartney/arr. Laux: Eleanor Rigby
  • Beethoven: Symphony No. 1, 1st mvt.


Fall 2012

  • Holst: Brook Green Suite
  • Mendelssohn: String Sinfonia #7
  • Telemann: Viola Concerto, 1st mvt.
  • Handel: Concerto Grosso, Op.6, No. 1
  • Mozart: Kyrie from Requiem, K. 626
  • Sibelius: Finlandia, Op. 26

Past Repertoire

  • Vivaldi: Autumn from The Four Seasons
  • Tchaikovsky: Marche Slave, Op. 31
  • Verdi: Overture to Nabucco
  • Hovhaness: Psalm and Fugue
  • Sibelius: Rakastava
  • Mendelssohn: Sinfonia #3 in E Minor
  • Vivaldi: Spring from The Four Seasons
  • Holst: St. Paulís Suite
  • Vivaldi: Summer from The Four Seasons
  • Alesander: Tripudio in Quinque
  • Vivaldi: Winter from The Four Seasons


Send e-mails regarding this website to COTA Webmaster.
©2009-2012 Kennesaw State University

The College of the Arts at Kennesaw State University supports, defends and promotes academic freedom in artistic expression, as outlined by the American Association of University Professors, and diversity of all kinds as outlined by the university's Human Relations Position Statement.

flourish with us