Thank you for considering Kennesaw State University.

KSU/SPSU Consolidation Frequently Asked Questions


Kennesaw State University (KSU) and Southern Polytechnic State University (SPSU) will consolidate to form a new university in 2015. The consolidated institution, named Kennesaw State University, is estimated to enroll more than 30,000 students, pending approval by the Southern Association of Colleges & Schools Commission on Colleges and the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.


We encourage you to read through this website of Frequently Asked Questions. This website will be updated in a timely manner in conjunction with the consolidation efforts.


Where should I apply?

Students should apply to the institution hosting their respective program of interest, until the consolidation is complete and both schools are operating as one institution. 


We will be keeping students up to date on application procedures as we move closer to finalizing the consolidation.


Kennesaw State University- Admissions               


Southern Polytechnic State University-Admissions


What are the admissions deadlines and requirements?

Until both universities processes are fully unified, we urge students, student counseling staff and parents to follow the deadlines and requirements of the respective universities - KSU or SPSU, in which you are applying.  The deadlines and requirements can be found on each university’s respective Admissions websites posted above.


We will inform applicants of any changes to admissions standards that would require additional documentation or information.


Where should I register for a campus tour or vist?

We recommend visiting the institution that currently hosts your major or program of interest.  Please feel free to visit both campuses for a full experience of the new KSU.





What majors will be offered?

A current list of majors and programs for each university can be found here:


KSU Program and Majors              


SPSU Majors and Programs


The academic departments and colleges, along with their respective majors that are currently envisioned for the unified institution, that are still subject to approval are:


College of Architecture and Construction Management
Construction Management


College of the Arts

Art Education

Art History

Music Education

Music Performance
Theater and Performance Studies


Michael J. Coles College of Business
Apparel Textile Technology (Fashion Design & Product
Business Administration
Finance and Quantitative Analysis
Information Systems
Information Security and Assurance
Management and Entrepreneurship
Professional Sales


College of Computing and Software Engineering
Applied Computer Science
Computer Science
Computer Game Design
Information Technology
Software Engineering


College of Continuing and Professional Education
There will be no single departmentally-based organizational structure within the College of Continuing and Professional Education. The College will work closely with local businesses, the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce, other chambers of commerce, and academic colleges to create continuing and professional educational programs for the new Kennesaw State University that serve the community.






Leland and Clarice C. Bagwell College of Education
Birth through Kindergarten Education
Elementary and Early Childhood Education

Secondary and Middle Grades Education


Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering & Engineering Technology
Civil Engineering Technology
Computer Engineering Technology
Electrical Engineering Technology
Industrial Engineering Technology
Manufacturing Operations
Mechanical Engineering Technology
Mechatronics Engineering (Robotics)
Surveying and Mapping
Systems Engineering


Graduate College
Because graduate degree programs will be based within academic departments, there will be no single departmentally-based organizational structure within the Graduate College.  The Graduate College will work closely with all degree-granting academic colleges to create an appropriate array of graduate programs for the new Kennesaw State University.





WellStar College of Health and Human Services
Culinary Sustainability and Hospitality
Exercise Science
Health and Physical Education
Human Services
Sport Management


Honors College
Because honors programs will be based within academic departments, there will be no single departmentally-based organizational structure within the Honors College.  The Honors College will work closely with all degree-granting academic colleges to create an appropriate array of honors programs for the new Kennesaw State University.


KSU- / 



College of Humanities and Social Sciences
African and African Diaspora Studies
Criminal Justice
Geographic Information Science
History Education
International Affairs
Modern Language and Culture
Political Science
Interdisciplinary Studies
New Media Arts
Technical Communication


College of Science and Math
Biology Education
Chemistry Education
Physics Education
Mathematics Education


University College
Integrative Studies


Will some academic programs be discontinued?

There will be a comprehensive review of all academic programs offered by both institutions in order to develop the optimum program array for the jointly consolidated institution. As a result, the possibility exists that academic programs may be continued, modified or discontinued.


Where will my classes be held?

Per the Consolidation Guiding Principles KSU and SPSU “will seek to minimize the need for students and faculty to commute between locations for classes. This may well result in offering core classes at both campuses and focusing courses for majors at one campus.”


There is also discussion of having shuttles run between campuses.


How will my tuition and fees change?

The Board of Regents sets tuition and fees and will continue to do so for the newly configured institution. Tuition and fees are still to be determined.  While we do expect changes, we anticipate that they will be modest.


Info on current tuition and fees can be found here:




What will my diploma say?

The consolidation of SPSU and KSU will be finalized in January 2015. However, students who are enrolled at Southern Polytechnic before January 2015 who graduate in Spring Semester 2015 or Summer Semester 2015 may choose to have either “Southern Polytechnic State University” or “Kennesaw State University” as the institutional name on their diploma. As of Fall Semester 2015, “Kennesaw State University” will be the institutional name on all diplomas.



Why are Kennesaw State University and Southern Polytechnic State University consolidating?

Per the Board of Regents and the University System of Georgia, consolidation will reduce overall expenditures on administrative operations, back office functions, and other areas of duplication. Funds saved in these areas will be redirected to educational programs, educational support programs, and research programs. While it is too soon to say how much money will be redirected, the redirection of these funds to instruction, educational support, and research will add to the strength and vibrancy of the consolidated institution. The potential to add new degree programs now exists with a unified institution.


Contact Us:

Kennesaw State University
Office of Undergraduate Admissions
1000 Chastain Road, #9111
Kennesaw, Georgia 30144-5591

Phone: 770.423.6300

Fax: 770.420.4435


Southern Polytechnic State University
Attention: Undergraduate Admission
1100 S. Marietta Parkway
Marietta, GA 30060


Office of Undergraduate Admission
Administration Building, Welcome Center
Phone: 678-915-7281


Office of Student Recruitment
Administration Building, Suite 172
Phone: 678-915-4199