Kennesaw State University Presidential Search Committees Named

ATLANTA, Ga. | Feb 1, 2018

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia has named the two committees responsible for conducting a national search for the next president of Kennesaw State University (KSU): The Presidential Search and Screen Committee and the Regents’ Special Committee.

“The Presidential Search and Screen Committee will play a critical role in the future of Kennesaw State University,” said Chancellor Steve Wrigley. “The committee has representation from faculty, staff, students, alumni, the foundation, and the Cobb County community. I’m grateful for their support and willingness to participate in the search process.”

The search and screening of candidates is the responsibility of the 14-member, campus-based Presidential Search and Screen Committee as follows:

• Douglas Moodie, Ph.D., professor of management, Department of Management and Entrepreneurship, Coles College of Business; Presidential Search Committee chair

• Victoria Brock, president, KSU Student Government Association

• Steve Ellis, assistant solicitor general, Cobb County Solicitor’s Office, and president, KSU Alumni Association; KSU alumnus

• Joya Carter Hicks, Ph.D., associate professor in special education, Bagwell College of Education; president, KSU Faculty Senate

• Carol Holtz, Ph.D., R.N., professor of nursing, WellStar School of Nursing, WellStar College of Health and Human Services

• Lei Li, Ph.D., professor of information technology, Department of Information Technology, College of Computing and Software Engineering

• Sharon Mason, president and chief executive officer, Cobb Chamber

• Igbagboleke “Iggy” Mobolaji, vice president, KSU Student Government Association

• Ivan Pulinkala, Ed.D., professor and chair, Department of Dance, College of the Arts

• Stacey Solomon, M.Ed., director, Dual Enrollment Program, and chair, KSU Staff Senate; KSU alumna

• Kerwin Swint, Ph.D., professor of political science and director, School of Government and International Affairs, College of Humanities and Social Sciences

• Trenton D. Turk, president and chief executive officer, GeoSurvey, Ltd.; chair (interim), KSU Foundation; chair, Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering and Engineering Technology Dean’s Advisory Council; Southern Polytechnic State University alumnus

• Roger Tutterow, Ph.D., professor of economics, Department of Economics, Finance and Quantitative Analysis, and director, Econometric Center, Coles College of Business

• David Veazie, Ph.D., professor of mechanical engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering and Engineering Technology

The duties of the campus-based committee include the development of a position description, recruiting candidates and conducting interviews. The search firm of Parker Executive Search of Atlanta has been engaged to assist the search committee.

The charge to the campus-based committee will take place on Feb. 14, 2018, at Kennesaw State University. At the conclusion of its work, the campus-based committee will forward the credentials of three to five unranked candidates to the Regents’ Special Committee for consideration.

The Regents’ Special Committee will be chaired by Regent Neil L. Pruitt Jr., and includes Regents W. Paul Bowers, James M. Hull, Sarah-Elizabeth Reed, Sachin Shailendra, Kessel D. Stelling Jr., and Philip A. Wilheit Sr. The Board of Regents has sole authority to appoint the next president.

Related Stories

A leader in innovative teaching and learning, Kennesaw State University offers undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees to its more than 45,000 students. Kennesaw State is a member of the University System of Georgia with 11 academic colleges. The university’s vibrant campus culture, diverse population, strong global ties and entrepreneurial spirit draw students from throughout the country and the world. Kennesaw State is a Carnegie-designated doctoral research institution (R2), placing it among an elite group of only 7 percent of U.S. colleges and universities with an R1 or R2 status. For more information, visit