Student Affairs awards students and group with leadership awards

KENNESAW, Ga. | Jun 3, 2024

The Division of Student Affairs hosted the 9th Annual Student Leader Awards at the Carmichael Student Center to celebrate extraordinary accomplishments and recognize the continued dedication of KSU students who serve their college and communities.   

This year, the awards committee received over 230 nominations for individual students, student groups, and individual programs and events hosted by students. There are 12 different award categories, including two new awards celebrating students who have completed Scrappy's Bucket List and the OwlServes Award for outstanding service hours.

"There is a vibrant culture of involvement here at KSU—both in and out of the classroom--that permeates throughout the campus and beyond," said Dr. Eric Arneson, the Vice President of the Division of Student Affairs. "We celebrate not only the accomplishments of individual organizations and student leaders; we also recognize the larger impact on our community."

Over 300 student organizations, fraternities, sororities, and club sports teams are registered under the Division of Student Affairs. Several other student groups are advised by departments across campus. Each of these organizations has made an impact. While Student Affairs directly recognizes the efforts of those organizations nominated, we also want to acknowledge that all student groups at Kennesaw State University have done impactful work this year. The student experience outside of the classroom enhances individual development and significantly contributes to the quality of student life and education at Kennesaw State University. Out-of-class experiences provide opportunities for students to develop skills such as leadership, teamwork, problem-solving, communication, and much more.

2024 Student Affairs Leadership Award Winners

Kimberly Smith Civic Engagement Award, Student
KSU Service Fellowship Civic Engagement Award, Program or Event
EcoOwls: Students for Sustainability Civic Engagement Award, Student Group 
Amiyah Richardson Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion, Student
Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority, Inc. Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion Award, Program or Event
American Medical Student Association Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion Award, Student Group
Jaida Jenkins Community and School Spirit Award, Student
Coles Ambassadors for Student Success Community and School Spirit Award, Student Group
Anthony Harrison Innovation Award, Student
EcoOwls: Students for Sustainability Innovation Award, Program or Event
CPS Peer Counselors Innovation Award, Student Group
Christian Gehrke Student Affairs Leadership Award, Student
Coles Ambassadors for Student Success Student Affairs Leadership Award, Student Group

Gabrielle Jones 

Summer Williams 

Krishna Naraparaju 

Jalon Bailey

Anindita Deb

Katelyn Sinnott

Scrappy’s Bucket List Award

Sierra McHugh-Bryan

Chelsea Holness

Diamond Thompson

OwlsServe Award

Coles Ambassadors for Student Success

Student Program of the Year Award Recipient

American Medical Student Association

Student Group of the Year

Dr. Gail Scott

Student Group Advisor/Supervisor of the Year

Esmeralda Rangel

Emerging Leader Award

Summer Williams

Student of the Year

Congratulations to all the 2024 Student Leadership Award winners and nominees. 

Related Posts