Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) Logo
CISAs are responsible for planning and executing audits within an organization. Accountants obtaining CISA certification typically enjoy courses related to accounting information systems and information technology. Unlike the CPA Exam, students can take the CISA exam without having a degree in hand. However, to earn CISA certification you must pass an exam, have 5 years of professional experience, and adhere to a code of professional ethics.

The CISA certification requires mastery in five (5) “domains”:

  1. Auditing Information Systems
  2. Governance and Management of Information Technology
  3. Information Systems Acquisition, Development and Implementation
  4. Information Systems Operations, Maintenance and Service Management
  5. Protection of Information Assets.

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA), circa 1967, is the group that represents the profession. ISACA operates in over 188 countries with more than 200 chapters.  Locally, you can get involved as a student member of the Atlanta chapter for $30. The Atlanta chapter of ISACA meets throughout the year. Check out the ISACA calendar for upcoming events!

CISA Requirements

Requirements for CISA certification:

  1. Pass the CISA exam
    • There is no educational requirement to take the CISA exam.
  2. Meet experience requirement
    • 3 years required if holding 120 hours of undergraduate credit
  3. Adhere to CISA code of professional ethics
  4. Adhere to Continuing Professional Education (CPE) program
  5. Comply with Information Systems Auditing Standards.

Learn more and register now:

CISA Exam Registration


Frequently asked questions about the Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification. 

  • No, the CISA exam has no educational requirement. You may benefit from taking the exam while your information systems and auditing course work are still fresh in your mind. 
  • You should have five (5) years of professional experience in information systems auditing, control or security. The work experience should be within five years of your passing the exam. You may obtain a waiver of up to three years of the five years of experience requirement, including a waiver for up to two years of experience credit for 120 undergraduate credit hours.